Seeds and Starters

Leave a comment

September 6, 2016 by traumermarchen

Earlier this weekend Juniper of Grow, Make, Live, Thrive helped me to set up my first backyard herb garden. It’s a modest undertaking – only four plants at present and seeds for two more, but I’m still excited to see how things pan out.

I’m growing:

  • Leeks
  • Sage
  • Spinach
  • Spearmint
  • Dill (from seed)
  • Chives (from seed)

 

I suspect the seeds won’t make it. My watering can has nothing to diffuse the stream, so I’ve caused a spot of flooding in the seeds’ peat pots each time I’ve tried to water them. I’ll be shocked if any of the seeds have remained at germination depth.

So far the starters have been doing alright. Something has made a go at the leaves of the Spearmint poking some holes in the middle of them, and it may have tried to hop to the neighboring spinach since one of the leaves there also looked a little eaten. However, I didn’t see any miner’s tracks or visible pests just yet so I’m not sure there’s much I can do other than keep an eye on things.

On the plus side, it looks like a new spider is setting up shop behind the herbs, so there’s a chance that I’ve just picked up a volunteer gardener who will help keep the leaf-eaters in check.

Leave a Reply

